Sticking to a plan

After taking a week off from meal planning, I can say that I like meal planning. πŸ˜‰

We could not keep the exact meal plans that I set up, due to having more food leftover than I planned on or being too busy on certain days to make the meal that I intended to make. It was nice to have a list of meals to choose from that I knew I had the ingredients for on any given night. Last night was a non-planned night, and we nearly ordered take out. We have been fighting illness, and lack of sleep so it was so tempting to order dinner. Thankfully my husband stepped up, chose what to make and made it. We really didn’t want to spend money on take out, since we both have been losing hours at work lately. We knew we had plenty to choose from in the house, and it was already 6:30pm too. He made cheeseburgers, mac & cheese and green beans. I was very tired, and about to pick up my phone to place an order. Hubby saved the day, and about $30 on take out too.

This week I am back to making a plan. I am more aware of what meals will create leftovers, and trying to separate those meals so that I don’t stuff my fridge with so many that we end up wasting food. My husband and I don’t mind having leftovers as lunches, or even dinner again, but my 11 year old has a phobia of leftovers. πŸ˜‰ Unless it is a pizza shop pizza. ;P He won’t even eat leftover homemade pizza. 

I’m also not sure what day will be grocery shopping day this week. I don’t venture out on my own to do the shopping on the weekend, so we usually shop on Tuesday when my husband and I are both off of work. That is the only day we get off together as a family though, so it’s hard to waste any of it to grocery shop. 😦 

This week will probably have some curve balls thrown in, because I need to make a dental appointment for my husband. If he gets in on Tuesday, then we’ll probably shop before or after his appointment and see how that affects dinner timing and the planned meal. Otherwise, his appointment will have to be after I get home from work one day, which would definitely throw off the timing of dinner, and possibly interfere with the ability to make the meal I was planning on. I think I have everything on hand for the meals I planned until next Saturday, but we will run out of some staples before then. Being flexible is the key to my meal plans being successful or not. If I was strict with myself, I would surely fail at this. πŸ˜‰

I think making a dinner plan helps throughout the week by providing easy lunches on days when either my husband or myself are home with the 3 kids. (2 of which who are very demanding of our time) It also makes lunch decisions easier to make if we know what dinner is going to be. I personally don’t like having something for lunch that will be too similar to dinner.

I have noticed a difference in my stress level when I have a plan in place. I’m sure that having a better routine will eventually be noticed by the rest of my family too. 

 

Leave a Reply

