A Sweet Treat

I haven’t shared recipes here yet, but I thought this one was worth it. πŸ™‚

This might look gross, but I assure you it is not. πŸ˜‰

These are frosted walnuts. A co-worker several years ago shared this recipe with me, but since I no longer work with her or stay in touch I don’t know who actually deserves credit for creating it. The recipe is so simple and delicious.

Ingredients…

1 pound shelled walnuts

1 1/4 cups sugar

1/2 cup sour cream

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions…

Melt all the ingredients besides the walnuts in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring the liquid to a boil while stirring constantly. Boil for 4-7 minutes. (I usually try 6-7) The original directions say to pour the nuts in a large bowl, then pour the liquid over the nuts and stir gently. I think this just creates another dish to clean and since the frosting cools quickly I prefer to add the nuts right to the saucepan and make sure they are evenly coated before I pour them out onto a greased cookie sheet. Let them cool completely, then break them apart. They should be stored in an airtight container. 

We eat these by the handful, or sprinkled on icecream.
Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “A Sweet Treat

  1. Valerie says:

    Oh my, this sounds so good! The sour cream is a weird ingredient, isn’t it, lol. I’m going to have to make it, thanks! I bet it’s fantastic over ice cream. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I thought the sour cream was weird too. It gives it a bit of a tang.πŸ˜‰ I made some last night with some strawberry extract and they were really good.😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

