My Baby Is Growing Up Too Fast

Today I gave my little man bananas for the first time. I can’t believe he’s eating solid food already. I started giving him thin rice cereal about once a day a month ago, so I knew this day would come.

He has been very interested in food and untensils for a while now. I think he would try to eat anything I put in front of him, since that’s basically all he does. Every toy, blanket or body part he can reach (his own or otherwise) goes straight in his mouth. πŸ˜‰

He did really well with the banana today. I wasn’t sure if I should just mash it and give it to him like that, or if I should make it thinner by mixing breastmilk into it. I decided to try it plain and apparently the texture was not an issue for him since he gobbled it up, pulling the spoon right to his mouth. He never had the instinct to push it out of his mouth, and surprisingly didn’t make any faces that would lead me to believe he didn’t care for it.

Breastfeeding isn’t really easy, but now that we are adding solid foods to his diet our routine will become more difficult. Our days will require more planning and clean up. We will also be less flexible to be spontaneous. As long as I had nursed him, we could go anywhere and know that as long as I was with him he’d have a meal ready when he was hungry again. Now, I’ll still be nursing him but we’ll have to make sure we always have food on hand for him too. 

We plan on blending up whatever we make for family meals for him, rather than buying jarred foods. We used a Baby Bullet for his 2 year old brother, and only used a few jars/packaged meals for him while he was at the stage of eating pureed foods. It worked out well for us, and I’m sure it saved us a ton of money. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “My Baby Is Growing Up Too Fast

  1. Valerie says:

    So exciting (and sad!) how fast they change and move up to join the rest of us, isn’t it? I have totally mixed feelings, lol. Elizabeth is such a hefty thing that I find myself wishing she could walk, but of course I want her to stay dependent, too. πŸ˜›
    She doesn’t like banana, by the way! I can’t say that I really like it alone, either, though. I can have it in cereal, or in banana bread, or a smoothie, but it’s too intense a flavor alone, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

