Whoopsy  Daisy 

I think it was a bit more than a whoopsy daisy, but it could have been worse.

I had a car accident 1/12/17 around 3:45am. I was on my way to work, and the temperature was above freezing when I left. Apparently the temperatures were fluctuating as I drove. I was being cautious,  since there were patches of fog and I was concerned there may be ice too. I came to a spot in my commute where there is often a patch of ice. It was there,  and I hit it. My car fishtailed one way, then the other and eventually I spun completely around. I went off the road and my driver’s side was pinned up against a tree. I was slanted in a ditch, but thankfully the tree kept me from flipping.

My only injury that was immediately noticeable was a “burn” from the seat belt on my neck.

I called my husband first, then 911. A man in a truck stopped to ask if I was okay, and if I called the police. I told him I was about to call and that I was fine. 911 sent an officer to the scene,  and he hit the same patch of ice I did. He almost went off the road too. He didn’t take an official statement from me, since he said it was obvious what had happened. The sander/salter came by while I was still in my car. (I’m pretty sure the officer made that request.)

My insurance company was having computer issues when I called, so they weren’t able to set up a tow. The police officer took care of that, and the people who came out were great. Unfortunately they told me my car was not drivable. 😦 I am expecting my insurance company to tell me my car is a total loss since it is a 2007. All I know right now, is that there is body damage, some being right around the front driver’s side wheel. If there is any suspension damage I know they’ll consider it totalled. 

My neck and back have been sore since a few hours after the accident. I had to work yesterday,  and the pain I had while working was pretty bad. I have a very physical job, and do a lot of lifting. It was pretty slow yesterday, so I only had to work 7 hours instead of 10. 

I have been resting, and taking ibuprofen. I’ve only used ice on the areas that are most sore a couple of times. The right side of my neck, along the back is the worst. Then I would say my lower back and hips are the next most affected areas. I know it could be much worse. Even though it was a fairly minor accident, if there had been a tree branch in that position where I hit it could have killed me. I had to drive by the scene on my way to work yesterday, and I noticed if my car had hit about a car length in a different direction I would have been in a deeper part of the ditch without a tree to catch me. If that happened I could have easily flipped over.

Right now I am driving a rental provided by my insurance company. It’s a 2017 Buick Verano. Way different than my 2007 Hyundai Elantra. It almost makes me hope my car is totalled, so we can upgrade. We were hoping to get another 2 years out of my car though. We aren’t as ready to take on a car payment as I’d like to be. We’ll work it out, and it will probably be in a new to us vehicle. No 2017, but newer than my Hyundai. 

I keep thanking God for my life, and opportunity to snuggle my family again. 

4 thoughts on “Whoopsy  Daisy 

Leave a Reply

