Baby Update

My baby was born 9/13/16 weighing 7 pounds 10 ounces, and dropped more than 10% of his weight before he started gaining. He got so skinny that my husband and I were scared he might need hospitalization. I had been breastfeeding him what felt like non-stop too. We decided to go buy some formula and call his pediatrician. They had us come in that day instead of waiting the 2 days for his scheduled appointment. They said we did the right thing by adding some formula. I was told to increase my fluid intake, try fenugreek, and pump after feedings to increase my supply. He was still below his birth weight at his two week check up, so we had to schedule more weight checks. His last one was Friday 10/14, and he weighed 8 pounds 10 ounces! He put on 1 pound 11 ounces in only 9 days. 🙂 He’s now weighing about what would be expected if he hadn’t had trouble gaining early on. We supplement with 4-6 ounces of formula daily, and I pump most of his meals. He doesn’t have a very  good latch, and he’s a lazy eater. He falls asleep so quickly when on the breast. Early on I thought he was eating enough, because he was still suckling. He’s getting more milk when he nurses now, but he still falls asleep quickly. I usually have to give him some pumped milk or formula after a nursing session to keep him satisfied longer.

The worries about his size, and fears of hospitalization are gone. It is a lot of work this time around, but  he’s worth it.

Now I am having anxiety about my return to work in just over a week. I have been out of work since 7/29/16, so it will be tough. My sleep habits have changed so much. I have the newborn keeping me up all night, and we’ve been doing some home remodeling which keeps us up until 2-3 am most days. My work schedule means I need to wake up by 2am, not just be falling asleep! My husband goes back to work on 10/22, so we’ll see if we can get our sleep pattern back by then. He needs to be up around 3:30 am. We never got much sleep as it was, so if we can get to bed by 10 on his nights and 9 on mine we should be ok. (As long as the baby doesn’t need to nurse  between 9pm and 2am on my work days.) My husband and I sacrifice our need for sleep to make sure the one who has to work can get rest. 🙂

It’s time for me to get back to the remodel, so that’s all the update I have today.

Leave a Reply

