A Date is Set

My cerclage removal is scheduled! I will have my cerclage (stitch keeping my cervix closed) removed August 26th. That means I could deliver that day, or anytime afterward. Of course there is still a chance I could go into labor naturally before my cerclage is removed, but I feel like that is unlikely. I will be 36 weeks 2 days along on 8/26. My last 2 cerclage assisted pregnancies ended with induction, so I expect that to be the case again. I am having more contractions during this pregnancy than the others, so my body may respond differently when it comes to labor too. Who knows?

I will be having a growth scan, NST and swab for GBS on 8/19. They are checking for GBS a bit early, so that they will know in advance of my cerclage removal if I will need antibiotics during labor.

It’s so hard to believe we are this close to the end of my pregnancy. We are not prepared to bring this baby home. We have a crib, and a carseat but the crib is not assembled and the seat hasn’t even been taken out of the box. My plan is to wash all the newborn baby clothes I have saved from my 22 month old today, and work on getting those organized in the dresser the babies will be sharing.

I Β haven’t packed a hospital bag yet either. I find that difficult to do so early, since I plan on bringing things I use on a regular basis. I don’t even want to pack clothes right now, since the comfy things I would like to bring are the comfy things I am wearing here at the end of my pregnancy. I am sure it will be a last minute bag pack if I go into labor naturally and I might plan a day or two in advance if I have a scheduled induction.

This baby is making me very aware of how real he is, even though I feel this pregnancy is still unreal. πŸ˜‰ He moves a lot, and that can be painful for me. I am having trouble getting into a comfortable position for sleep lately. Luckily I am able to sleep in late, since I don’t fall asleep at a reasonable time for most people with small children. My toddler and 11 year old both stay up late, and sleep fairly late. The 11 year old has no problem getting up and taking care of his needs in the morning. The toddler is still sleeping in a crib, so I don’t worry about him getting into trouble. If he’s even awake when I get up, he’s usually just happily chatting with his stuffed animal friends.

I think that is all I have to update with at this time, but next week and the week after are BIG ones for us. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “A Date is Set

  1. Valerie says:

    Oh my word, I had to live out of my hospital bags for like five weeks because I didn’t go out and buy duplicates and everything was used regularly! I hated that, lol.
    Crossing my fingers that everything goes well for you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, that’s exactly what I want to avoid. I figure if I’m not prepared I can always send the hubby home for essentials. He’ll have to check on our animals, and probably get the toddler out of the hospital from time to time anyway. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

