Possibly taking my LOA.

I think I may have hit the point in my pregnancy where I can no longer work. I am just over 32 weeks along now. I have a very physical job, with long shifts. I only work 3 days a week, but they are 10 hour days. From the time I leave my house, to the time I get home that 10 hour shift is actually 12 1/2 hours. I work in a very hot environment, and sometimes have to walk several flights of stairs daily. I am getting tired much easier than normal, so I’m huffing and puffing by the time I get where I need to be. Then, I have high production demands to meet too. I have found reaching my goals to be difficult. That’s hard to deal with when you’re used to being over productive. My back has been angry with me this week too. After only a few hours the pain starts, and by the end of my shift I am miserable. I am not sure if I am just on my feet too long, or if the heavy lifting is just getting to be too much.

I put a call in to my OB’s office to see what they think about my situation. I haven’t yet mentioned to them that my employer is enforcing mandatory overtime. I only have to put in an extra hour a day for 10 days (a break I have been given due to my situation… thanks boss). I am seriously having trouble getting through my regular shift, so the thought of doing any extra is not appealing.

I have hit the point in my pregnancy where , if all goes well with delivery I should be able to return to work before my 12 weeks of FMLA time would run out. That has been my goal, since I really like the shift I am on (when not pregnant) and the job I have is one of the better ones where I work. I know my employer would hire someone in my place without a second thought if I exceeded the 12 weeks allowed. It’s not that I don’t do my job well, or that I am a bad employee, they are just that way. They claim it’s the law to post people’s positions right after that 12 weeks mark is exceeded, but anyone who reads the laws on the subject can see that they can choose not to. They have the right to do so, but it’s not mandatory. I hope it doesn’t come down to me losing my position, but having a healthy baby, and taking care of my physical needs would be more important than any position.

2 thoughts on “Possibly taking my LOA.

    • I think you are right. My husband is quite worried and wants me to stop working. He thinks the risk of pre-term labor is too high to keep at it. I would like to have more time off after delivery, but as long as I don’t require a c-section I should have enough time off. I know it’s a possibility though. We’ll just deal with that situation if it comes up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

