Riding the Gestational Diabetes Rollercoaster

My journey with gestational diabetes has had a lot of highs and lows. This morning I had another low. I hate the feeling of waking up in low blood sugar. I try so hard to manage my insulin doses to avoid highs and lows, but yet my body doesn’t like to cooperate.

I have a very odd schedule, so my night time insulin changes day to day, depending on whether I work the next morning (which means I get up before 3am), or if I get to sleep in late. I also have to figure in if I have had a late dinner, a snack or not before bed etc.. It sure does get tricky.

I hope and pray that my slip ups, and just unexplainable highs and lows aren’t hurting the little guy growing within me.

I figured I would put this message out, to help anyone else who may feel like they are a failure due to not having precise control over their gestational diabetes. This is not my first time going through it, so I should be a pro by now… but it isn’t so easy to do.

We are not failures, as long as we are trying hard to protect our babies. If we cheat from time to time we aren’t failures either, we are just human. It’s hard to avoid the temptations, especially when our friends and family surround us with them. πŸ˜‰

Remember that as our pregnancies progress our insulin needs will change. That alone makes controlling our diabetes hard. I thought I knew exactly the dose of insulin needed for meals I ate often, but then my readings would be high. It sure can get frustrating!

Our babies will be so worth all of our efforts in the end. They will be healthier if we try our best, and our pregnancies should have less complications too.

Good luck to all of you riding this rollercoaster with me. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Riding the Gestational Diabetes Rollercoaster

Leave a Reply

