It’s Christmastime

Yesterday I had someone ask if it was my baby’s first Christmas, or second. I answered that it was his second, but that we don’t celebrate it. She told me it was overrated anyway, and that her six year old daughter was too serious for Santa already. She said her daughter said to her “Santa? Really? What are you getting me?” Ah, the joys of Christmas. NOT!

I know that I did it out of tradition, and following the crowd, but I am so happy to have stopped all the non-sense. Why do we ever think it is right to lie to our children? I have a video of my oldest son on  Christmas morning when he was about 2 years old, and we are asking him who came last night. What used to make me smile, now makes me feel sick. I love the video for the cute memories of my son as a toddler, but I feel like trashing it at the same time.

My youngest child, will never celebrate Christmas with us, and that’s ok. I can still make adorable videos of him getting a gift from us and watching his reactions, but it will never be for Christmas pretending that someone else brought it for him. One of the best gifts we can give our children is honesty. When they do discover the lie of Santa, they will wonder what else we have been lying about, and not trust us.

When you really sit down and ask yourself why you do what you do this time of year, do you have a better answer than “It’s tradition”, “We always have”, “It’s fun”, “It’s pretty” or “I don’t know”? I could not think of a better reason, even when we focused on Jesus more. We still had the tree, decorations, presents and stress, but with a nativity set too. We’d watch the nativity story to make us feel better about how we celebrated, but it was still a time focused on us.

God will never be our focus if we are so worried about the perfect gift, decorations, meal etc.. Being Christians we would put a spin on what we did to make it seem like we were honoring God, trying to justify how we were doing worldly things in His name. A Christ follower should really be standing out this time of year, by not following the crowd, but by going down the narrow path. I know my family stands out as different. I hope that by not blending in with the crowd we can lead more people to Christ.

If you are reading this post as a Christian, and thinking I am crazy for not celebrating Christ’s birth with all of the other Christians this time of year, know that there is no need to choose a specific time of year to remember Christ’s birth. We can be thankful that he came and died for us every day, and we should be.

Here is a link to a post written by my husband that you might appreciate if you liked this one.

https://understandinggodsword.wordpress.com/2015/12/08/keep-christ-in-christmas-why-this-holiday-is-all-about-us-not-jesus-how-about-this-year-we-say-no-christmas-just-christ/

Leave a Reply

