Homeschooling By The Hearth

It’s December, and it should be much colder in my neck of the woods. I am quite thankful the temperatures have been above average, and the snow hasn’t been flying. 🙂

It is still cold enough to keep our fire going, and I have to say I am enjoying homeschooling by the hearth. Some days the woodstove gets cranking pretty hot, and my son needs to shed some layers or position himself further from the stove. Today the weather is pretty mild, but it feels cool in my house. I have been able to cuddle up with my boy to read by the fire.

That is just one of the many blessings of homeschooling. 🙂

This week we have received some encouraging news in the mail to keep us on our homeschooling path. The results of my son’s California Achievement Test arrived, and we are very proud of how well he did. His scores fell in the highest level and high level categories. His report card came today for last year, and I am happy to report he received mostly A’s. His only B was in his history course. We were not surprised by that B, since we knew he had a bad test score that would drag his total score down for the year. (We submit his work to a school, so that eventually he will earn an actual diploma.)

Having control over the information we teach our son, and watching how he progresses are both very important to us. I can say with certainty that my son would not have done well in the public school system. He is very intelligent, but also very sensitive. He asks more questions than I have the time or patience to answer, so I know he would get very frustrated without the one on one attention we are able to provide. I love being able to spend extra time on subjects he either struggles with, or really enjoys and wants to explore further. I can’t even describe how awesome it really is to have the flexibilty of homeschooling. We have school whenever it works for us. We are not tied down by the time of the day, or day of the week. We take our vacations whenever we want to, and avoid crowds. 😉 There are so many benefits to homeschooling.

I make a point to tell him how the public school system would work, so that he doesn’t think that he will always have such luxuries in life. I tell him that when he is in the workforce he will not always be able to question the decisions of his employer. There will be times when he has to work as part of a team, and that he may not agree with the direction the team chooses to go.

It can be stressful at times, but it has been great for our family.

Leave a Reply

