Been Taking Time To Enjoy My Family

I figured it was time for me to check in and write a post, though I really don’t have anything specific to write about today.

I have been taking it easy with my family lately. Getting in a few relaxing trips. I haven’t been crafting much at all, but I am looking forward to taking some time to do that soon. I might get a chance while my 10 year old is doing his school work. His curriculum arrived last week, and I will be taking some time later today and tomorrow to get a rough schedule in place to make sure we work through his 9 courses in a timely and organized manner. πŸ˜‰ I know that public schools have been in session for a few weeks already, but I’m not worried about us falling behind. We don’t take the breaks that public schools do, so I know we will catch up easily. Even when we do take mini vacations throughout the year we often bring his school work with us. We might not do “full” days while on trips, but enough to keep us on track.

The weather is getting cooler in my neck of the woods, so we try to get out and enjoy the warm days when we get the chance. Today is one of the cool days, only about 64 degrees out and breezy. My big boy has been out playing basketball, and riding his bike though. Trying to stay healthy and get his exercise. πŸ™‚ It has been a pretty cool summer in general around here, so we haven’t been able to use our new pool very much. We (mostly my husband) worked so hard getting the area level, the fence built and the pool ready for swimming. I thought having the pool would be a great way for us all to get healthier and stay cool. Oh well, maybe next year will be better. I decided yesterday that it was time to turn the filters off and get ready for draining it.

The little one, who will be one in less than 2 weeks has been having a rough time trying to get his nap in today. As soon as he fell asleep my dog started barking and woke him up. 😦 Now it’s up to me to decide if he should skip his nap and have his lunch, or let him get sleepy again. He’s wide awake at the moment, but whiny too.I don’t want him to fall back asleep and miss his usual lunch time. I guess I’ll just give him a few minutes while I finish this up.

I know God is working on me right now. I have been having more of a desire to get into His word, even though I haven’t been doing it. I also had a dream about sharing my faith in a public setting. Maybe I will actually be bold enough to do so for real. πŸ™‚

My husband and I are trying to plan out a Bible study. We have been doing some video based studies with some friends, but we haven’t really been digging into the Bible. We want to get away from basic studies that just pick out a few Bible verses to memorize, or that tell an inspirational story. We want to really examine the Bible, and learn the truth and apply the lessons we find to our lives so that we become the people God has designed us to be. I need to do more than just pray for guidance and direction. I need to take action, to become the person I know God wants me to be. I don’t want to disappoint Him anymore. God, my husband and my children deserve more from me. Honestly, so do all of the people I come in contact with.

Leave a Reply

