A New Hobby

1431352353817-1295906077

Stash

Stash

Loom hats

Loom hats

I have had a yarn addiction for several years, and I have attempted to crochet, but I have never been very good at reading patterns. I have wanted to make beautiful yarn projects, but have failed most of the time. My husband recently bought me a round loom set, and I am in love! I haven’t made much with it yet, but I am intrigued by the videos I have seen online showing the variety of objects that can be made using these looms.

I have carpal tunnel syndrome, and holding my crochet hook and yarn would make my hand go numb rather quickly, so any projects I did start would take longer than they should have. I have been able to whip up a few hats pretty quickly on my new looms. I did practice a few different stitches on the last hat I made…the pink/purple one, so I am not actually happy with the result. It was good practice though. As you can see from my photos, I think I could afford to waste a bit of my stash on it. 😉

I know I have written in the past that I don’t have time to get into crafting, but these looms make a project go quickly and I can do it while relaxing on the couch after work which I was already doing anyway. I will also report that my time with my Bible has increased too, but I still need to do better in that area. I have found that I am able to read a bit even on my early work days when I first get up. At 2am the house is usually very quiet. 😉

I will post some pictures of past projects that I have made with crochet. I have several more “hidden” around the house, but this is what was easy to find. 🙂

Blankets

Blankets

Scarves

Scarves

Bags and hats

Bags and hats

There are also several works in progress stored throughout my house. Many of them have been sitting for years and will most likely be taken apart rather than finished. I hate to take apart hours of my work, but I would rather use the yarn for a new project than have it sit undone.

Leave a Reply

